Big Blue Marble Bookstore
a neighborhood bookstore for Mt. Airy and beyond
feed the resistance.jpg

Books for Cooks

Books for Cooks

Like what you see? Come to our 2nd floor to browse our cookbooks, and have some hot tea while you read!

Or email us at: orders@bigbluemarblebooks.com

ziggy.jpg

As the oldest son of Bob and Rita Marley, Ziggy was raised with both traditional Jamaican food and the more natural and healthy "ital" food of the family's Rastafari culture. The fifty-four recipes included in the book, inspired by Ziggy's youth and accompanied by beautiful photos, are contributed by Ziggy, his wife Orly, his sister Karen, as well as renowned chefs Bruce Sherman (Coconut Carrot Curry), Ben Ford (Escabeche, Escovitch), and Leonie McDonald (Caribbean Salsa). Many of the recipes are vegetarian, vegan, and/or gluten-free.  $24.95

soup for syria.jpg

Acclaimed chefs and cookbook authors the world over came together to help food relief efforts to alleviate the suffering of Syrian refugees. Each has contributed a recipe to this beautifully illustrated cookbook of delicious soups from around the world. Contributors include: Yotam Ottolenghi, Sami Tamimi, Anthony Bourdain, Alice Waters, Paula Wolfert, Claudia Roden, Chef Greg Malouf, Chef Alexis Coquelet, Chef Chris Borunda, Chef Alexandra Stratou, Necibe Dogru, Aglaia Kremenzi, and many others.  $30

sioux chef.jpg

Oglala Sioux chef Sean Sherman dispels outdated notions of Native American fare—no fry bread or Indian tacos here—and no European staples such as wheat flour, dairy products, sugar, and domestic pork and beef. The Sioux Chef’s healthful plates embrace venison and rabbit, river and lake trout, duck and quail, wild turkey, blueberries, sage, sumac, timpsula or wild turnip, plums, purslane, and abundant wildflowers. $34.95

 
salt fat.jpg

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious.  $35

feed the resistance.jpg

From favorite cookbook author Julia Turshen comes this practical and inspiring handbook for political activism—with recipes. When people search for ways to resist injustice, they begin by gathering around the table to talk and plan. These dishes foster community and provide sustenance for the mind and soul, including a dozen of the healthy, affordable recipes Turshen is known for, plus over 15 more recipes from a diverse range of celebrated chefs. With stimulating lists, extensive resources, and essays from activists in the worlds of food, politics, and social causes. $14.95

ghana.jpg

WINNER of Gourmand Cookbook Award 2016 -- "Best African Cookbook Outside of Africa"! The Akan proverb "The good soup comes from the good earth" elegantly sums up the Ghana's tradition of cooking with seasonal, local ingredients. With an emphasis on locally caught fish and seafood, vegetables, fruits, and legumes, Ghana's cuisine is vibrant, healthful, and eminently appealing. Limited access to wheat and dairy allows for a variety of gluten-free, lactose-free, and vegan options using starches such as plantains, cassava, taro, sweet potatoes and millet, plus creamy nut-based soups and sauces. $20