Events

We host more than 150 events a year - click through our calendar to find readings, author visits, book clubs, and book parties!

Back to All Events

Eric Bell: "Alan Cole Doesn't Dance"

Big Blue Marble welcomes our 2nd visit from Eric Bell, author of the new middle grade novels "Alan Cole Is Not a Coward" and "Alan Cole Doesn't Dance." Both are hilarious and poignant tales about the trials of middle school when you’re coming of age—and coming out.

Perfect for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jerry Spinelli, Alan Cole is a middle school hero for an age when being gay is one way a kid can be. He faces sibling rivalry, a difficult-to-please father, and a school bully with loyal best friends by his side and, always, good humor.

Eric Bell graduated from Indiana University of Pennsylvania with a degree in Psychology and a minor in English. Once the other kids at recess began pretending to go on the adventures he came up with, he never stopped telling stories. His first novel, ALAN COLE IS NOT A COWARD, was included on the 2018 ALA Rainbow List of GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens. A sequel, ALAN COLE DOESN’T DANCE, debuts in October 2018.

eric Bell.jpg
Earlier Event: November 15
The Body is Not An Apology Book Club
Later Event: November 18
NaNoWriMo Write Together