Big Blue Marble Bookstore
a neighborhood bookstore for Mt. Airy and beyond

Forthcoming Books

Back to All Events

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns

Email us to reserve your copy! 

 

Eighteen-year-old Xifeng (pronounced She-fung) is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her. Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng's majestic future. But is the price of greatness too high? To claim her place beside the Emperor, Xifeng must cast aside Wei, the young man who has longed to marry her since childhood. And darker still, she will have to embrace the callous magic that runs through her veins - magic fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed - for the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is complete. Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy - dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Stealing Snow, Red Queen, and The Wrath and the Dawn will devour this stunning debut.

Earlier Event: October 31
Akira 35th Anniversary Box Set
Later Event: November 6
Barbara Lehman, "Red Again"